Maus by Art Spiegelman

Maus almost instantly engaged me, fromt he very first pages. I say almost since I’m more attracted to more carefully drawn comics, yet when I discovered that the story was about the Holocaust, it hooked me. I’m a huge WWII and WWI junkie, and were basically all the books that I ever read through out my middle school years. Survivor stories intrigue me, and the fact that any of the prisoners who made it gives me hope to learn more about them. As for the comic, it’s perfectly portrayed with the animal-characterizations. As quoted on the book, “it’s the most human story you’ll ever read.”

I felt that once the father stepped into the story, his words felt very honest and possibly why it makes the comic so engaging. Art modestly sets himself at the sidelines to give his father the spotlight through out the entire story, and the fact that it’s a double auto-biography also makes it feel more of a classic. In my opinion, it’s one of the most raw and honest comic that I’ve ever read, and at times even painful to read since the content matched the drawing so well. Crude, sharp lines gave the feel of torment as you tried to see within your own mind what could have happened. This rings true to McCloud’s comicbook theory as well. Since the Jews are mice, the cats Germans, ect. we see them as more human by the symbolism of their persona as that animal. The sympathy for a little mouse far outweighs the disgust for a spiteful cat. It also may be that I think that cats are always schemeing mischevious ways to get back at you by those lazy looks, but they don’t fool me.

About this entry